I wish to make this VERY clear ... we have NEVER nor will we EVER partake in the practice of SPAM. I personally spend nearly two hours (and that number is rising as our sites become more popular) eradicating SPAM comments and form responses each and every morning. It is not a fun endeavor, I assure you, and not one we would ever subject any other webmaster to. I own the ONLY hotzippy email address, so no emails could ever have come from our network that would have constituted itself as SPAM. In fact, the only unsolicited email I have ever sent from that account is to the above poster.
Price your e-book cheaply: You should sell your e-book for $5.99 or less. According to research done by Smashwords, an online e-book publishing and distribution platform for authors, publishers, agents, and readers, $2.99 to $5.99 yields the most profit for self-published authors, and although 99 cents will get you more downloads, it's a poor price point for earning income (see Smashwords' presentation on pricing here). On the other hand, Lulu, one of the bigger online self-publishing operations, says that authors who price their e-books in the 99-cent to $2.99 range "sell more units and earn more revenue than those in any other price range."
Paul, I have begun writing my first e-book. I have so many ideas for other books, but I know getting started and publishing the first is the most difficult. I have to admit that I am a little overwhelmed, lacking in confidence and intimidated by the formatting process, uploading the book, etc, etc. Formatting the TOC alone made my head spin! Also, trying to figure out how to promote it, which way is best with Amazon…my gosh, it is a daunting endeavor…but I know worth it!

I came here from a Google Search myself. I downloaded my first “enhanced edition” book and I LOVE it! The author included embedded video, etc. So, I can NOT find any help anywhere that tells me how to include such in my own books. I know the bandwidth surcharges with Amazon etc – but I still would like to explore doing that in future books. Anyone know how to include – what the format is for Kindle to include the video, enhanced content, etc?

This is probably the most comprehensive Kindle article I’ve ever read. As someone who’s been in publishing for many years and seen eBooks grow from internet marketers to the general public, and therefore being abused by authors who don’t know any better, I thank you for posting the importance of audience, a decent cover, and especially proper formatting.
#1 New York Times Bestseller A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick "I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!"--Reese Witherspoon "Painfully beautiful."-- The New York Times Book Review "Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver."-- Bustle For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on...
A million thanks for the article and all the commenting. There is enough in here to keep me reading and researching for a month (when I have the time.) Right now I’m looking for information for a friend who’s nearly finished writing and illustrating her book, but is no more computer savvy than I am, and as I read all this, I realize I’m going to have to scramble up a steep learning curve to understand Kindle publishing and so much else.
Consider the value to the customer and what they can get for that price within the same genre. For example, if John Grisham's latest legal thriller is $4.99, you can't really price your first legal thriller at $7.99. I have fiction at free, $2.99 for novellas, $4.99 for full-length novels, $6.99-$8.99 for boxsets, $7.99 for non-fiction and then higher prices for other items.
I don't have a problem with that and think it's great that Apple offers iBooks Author for free. But the one thing that does bother me is Apple's failure to provide a free ISBN for your e-book. Instead, it tells you to get your own and provides a link to Bowker's Identifiers Services page. Bowker's charges $125 for a single ISBN or 10 for $250. The price drops to single digits when you buy thousands of ISBNs as other self-publishing outfits do. (You can buy a single ISBN for less than $125, but I'd prefer not get into all that). In short, it's patently absurd that Apple's making its authors pay $125 for ISBN number, and I think it's deterring a lot of people from publishing an iBook directly with Apple.

Maybe they shouldn’t charge ridiculous prices for books. Screwing over students, making one small revision so they can resell the new edition for full price. Adding in bullshit online codes so you’re forced to purchase the book new and removing the used book option. Screw the publishers, I pirate with pride. I’ve paid about $100 for thousands of dollars worth of textbooks. Don’t rip me off and I won’t rip you off. Sounds like you’re salty paying thousands for BS textbooks!
This is an efficient eBook torrent downloading website, which you can use to download and enoy reading eBook torrents. Moreover, it allows you to download TV shows, games, music, movies, anime, and applications for you. Downloading eBooks is a child’s play when you have 101 Torrent at your side. You get to have the torrent file downloaded within sometime and enjoy reading it afterwards.
The discussion about the best sites to download the ebook from torrent will be incomplete unless you give a special mention to this site. As for the genre of books, it covers all the probable topics of choice, ranging from Lifestyle, Business, Science & Fiction, Economics, Politics, Business, Health and various others. One of the features of this site that deserves a special mention is that it allows sub-categorization that makes it easier for the readers to easily find the books of their choice.
Great post. I think for eBook authors outside of the US, though, Amazon is just a pain. Firstly, they take months to pay. Secondly, they actually send a physical paper check all the way across the ocean (I live in Australia) instead of just paying by PayPal. It’s very 1970s, and irritating. So if you get a payment of $20, you have to pay a currency conversion fee of $10 at the bank here, so you only get half your money.
Free is a marketing strategy, in the same way that offering samples of cheese or wine in shops helps people to discover new tastes, so they might go on to buy the rest of the product. It's very useful when you have a series, as it can lead people into buying the rest of the books. If you want to make a book permafree, then you need to price it for $0 on stores that allow this: Kobo, iBooks, Smashwords, Draft2Digital, and then wait for Amazon to price match to $0.
Other features: KDP Select allows you to take a 90-day exclusive digital distribution deal — in return, you’ll get your books available in the Kindle Lending Library, where Amazon Prime members can “check out” their books for free with no due dates. (You get paid royalties for every book borrowed.) You can also choose between Kindle Countdown Deals or a free book promotion.

London, 1944. Two young nurses meet at a train station with a common purpose: to join the war effort. Scarlet longs for the chance to find her missing fiancé, Thomas, and to prove to her family--and to herself--that she's stronger than everybody thinks. Nursing is in Ellie's blood, but her humble background is vastly different from Scarlet's privileged upbringing. Though Ellie puts on a brave face, she's just as nervous as Scarlet about what awaits them in France.
×